Building a C# compiler in F#

Neil Danson's Blog

A little over a year ago I wrote a post about Roslyn.

Recently (after seeing Mads Torgersen‘s excellent NDC-london talk) I was inspired to attempt to write my own mini-C# compiler to address some of the missing features in C#.

Mads Torgersen repeating what I said a year ago Mads Torgersen repeating what I said a year ago

Roslyn

Roslyn is a Microsoft project to rewrite the VB and C# compilers in their respective languages. After Mads talk, and listening to the (proposed) new features for C# 6 I couldn’t help but feel a little underwhelmed with the direction of C#.

Mads’ justification seems reasonable on the face of it – C# 2, 3,4 & 5 have all had major new language additions (namely generics, linq, dynamic & async) and that C# 6 is more of a ‘tidy the pain points’ release. But I had a number of ideas for improvements, and unfortunately only two are…

View original post 1,644 more words

Leave a Reply

